THE EMPIRE HAS NO CLOTHES!!!

…No desire to see the new Star Wars movie. I enjoyed the original, enjoyed the romp, respected its wonderful re-telling of a mythic, archetypal story. But I was 12. That was long ago, in a life far, far away.
The numbers tell of triumph for the new installment. So I was amused and refreshed to read this testimony from my friend Bruce, who saw the film this week with his grown children:

The movie was grotesque. It had a half-way decent story line and some good acting, but the gratuitous violence (with innumerable humungous explosions) was both tiresome and, actually, boring.  Although it’s the biggest box-office hit on record, for me, it was atrocious. How “dumbed down”can the American movie-viewing population become???

 

I have yet to see it, so I cannot say that I concur, but I suspect that I would sympathize, as this has been my response to so many BIG movies in recent years.  That said, I hope that all who see it do enjoy it, derive some inspiration from it. For disappointment in something beloved can be corrosive demoralization. However, I hope that those who are not pleased will embrace disillusion as a gateway to awaken to something deeper and truer. In that way, The Force will have won in the end. …Listen!…

Isn’t that Yoda laughing!?

One thought on “THE EMPIRE HAS NO CLOTHES!!!

Leave a Reply

